Skip to main content

Cayman saw an exciting weekend of National Championship racing with blazing fast times on the Individual Time Trial and a thrilling Road Race a, both competed on the East End Circuit. Sunday saw 16 riders, take on the very windy course, with Pete De Witt recording the fastest time of the day – 42:17 for the 18.7 miles. Standing on the podium as National Champions were Victor Magalhaes (Elite Men) and Jeremy Solomon (Masters). Sunday’s Road Race began with a controlled pace, as several attempts to break away were swiftly neutralized. However, the final lap brought a dramatic end with a successful breakaway by Peter De Wit and Chris Bodden, culminating with Chris powering across the finish line for the overall win and the Elite Men’s National Championship. Other jersey winner’s were John Thompson (Masters), and Nathaniel Forbes (Under 23 Category).

A massive shoutout to everyone for their incredible support and participation, especially our inspiring women – Carole, Sarah, Rachel, and Emily – who showed abilities and determination over the past two days of racing. Your participation is truly motivating, and we hope it sparks even more interest among women in the sport.

We couldn’t have done this without our amazing volunteers, some of whom stepped up at the last minute to help. The growth of cycling as a sport depends on the community, and your dedication makes it all possible. Finally, a heartfelt thank you goes out to our fantastic sponsors – Catalyst Group, Tricor & AA Rubis – as well as the RCIPS for your unwavering support and assistance.

Stay tuned to Cayman Cycling for the latest news and updates, and follow us @caymancycling on Instagram, Facebook, LinkedIn & Strava to stay in the loop with the Cayman Cycling community.